TRB143 Device Recovery Options

From Teltonika Networks Wiki
Revision as of 10:36, 19 May 2022 by Gytispieze (talk | contribs) (Gytispieze moved page Draft:TRB143 Device Recovery Options to TRB143 Device Recovery Options without leaving a redirect)

(diff) ← Older revision | Approved revision (diff) | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Main Page > TRB Gateways > TRB143 > TRB143 Manual > TRB143 Device Recovery Options

Summary

This chapter is an overview on various recovery options for a TRB143 device.

Default login information

Using recovery methods resets the device's configuration to its default state. Therefore, you will need to use the default authentication info in order to login to the device. The default login information for TRB143 is provided below:

  • Default Address (LAN IP): 192.168.2.1
  • Default Username: admin
  • Default Password: admin01 or random generated password*

Devices with random password


* Certain devices or batches of a device may have a generated password out of the box, instead of admin01. For TRB143 devices, batch from when unique passwords are used is 3

You can find the batch of your device on the Product Labels sticker.

Factory reset

A factory reset returns the device back to its default factory settings, i.e., it deletes all custom configurations. Below you will find various methods of performing a factory reset on TRB143.
Additional note: SIM PIN on the main SIM card is the only user parameter that is kept after a factory reset.

Reset Button


The reset button is located on the {{{panel}}} of the device:

Networking trb140 manual device recovery button reset v1.png

The reset button has two functions:

  • Reboot the device. If the reset button is pressed for up to 4 seconds, the device will reboot. Start of the reboot will be indicated by the flashing of all 5 signal strength LEDs together with the green connection status LED.
  • Factory reset. If the reset button is pressed for at least 12 seconds (by default), the device will perform a factory reset and reboot.
    NOTE: the default button hold time value (min time 12 seconds, max time 20 seconds) can be changed in the gateway WebUI, from the System → Administration → General page.

WebUI


You can also perform a factory reset from the router's WebUI. To do so, login to the router and go to the Backup section found under the System tab (System → Maintenance → Backup → Reset settings). In the very bottom of the page there's a Reset button that performs a chosen type of reset.

Notice: A Factory defaults reset will remove all logs, SIM PIN's and RMS data that the device might have had.

Networking rutos manual device recovery option reset webui v2.png


Command line


You can perform a factory reset via command line by executing the firstboot command. After this you will be asked to confirm the reset. If you're sure, type the letter y and press "Enter" or type the letter n if you wish to cancel the reset.

If you agreed to perform a factory reset, next type in reboot and press "Enter". The router will be reset to it's factory settings and rebooted. The entire sequence of events should look like this:

For firmwares TRB14X_R_00.02.04.1 and newer:

root@Teltonika-TRB143:~# firstboot
This will erase all settings and remove any installed packages. Are you sure? [N/y]
y
/dev/mtdblock5 is mounted as /overlay, only erasing files
root@Teltonika-TRB143:~# reboot

For firmwares TRB14X_R_00.02.03.2 and lower:

root@TRB143:~# factory_restore
Are you sure (y/n)? y

You can find more information on the command line interface (CLI) here.


RMA

If conventional recovery methods do not help, you may need to send the device to warranty for repair. The warranty process is described here.