RUT240 Wake on LAN (legacy WebUI)
The information in this page is updated in accordance with firmware version RUT2XX_R_00.01.14.6.
Note: this user manual page is for RUT240's old WebUI style available in earlier FW versions. Click here for information based on the latest FW version.
Wake on LAN (WOL) is feature that can "wake up" compliant computers from sleep mode by sending a "magic packet" to the network interface adapter.
This chapter of the user manual provides an overview of the Wake on LAN page for RUT240 devices.
Wake on LAN configuration
You can set up the WOL function to use a broadcast address when waking up devices or wake all connected devices on click from the Wake on LAN configuration section.
|Broadcast||yes | no; default: no||If checked, the WOL function sends a magic packet to the broadcast address (FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF) whenever it is asked to wake a device. When you send a packet to the broadcast address it is received by all LAN devices.|
|Wake all devices||- (interactive button)||Wakes all devices by sending a magic packet to the broadcast address (FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF).|
Devices to wake up
The Devices to wake up section is used to configure entries for LAN devices that can later be woken up by the WOL function. Refer to the figure below for information on the fields contained in the Devices to wake up section.
|Name||string; default: example||A custom name for the device. Only used for easier management purposes.|
|MAC||mac; default: 11:22:33:44:55:66||MAC address of the network interface card of the computer that will be "woken up".|
|Password||string; default: AABBCCDDEEFF||SecureON Password - sends given password when attempting to wake the host. Some computers have a BIOS feature that secures the WOL feature with a password. If your BIOS does not require such a password, leave this field empty.|
|Wake on Boot||yes | no; default: no||Indicates whether the device should be "woken up" on router startup.|
|Wake device||- (interactive button)||Sends a magic packet to the specified device.|
|Delete||- (interactive button)||Deletes the device configuration.|